The head of the SAP is known as the Commandant. He is an officer of the rank of Superintendent of Police. The list of police officers of different ranks is given below in ascending order

Commandant (SP rank), Deputy Commandant (Senior DySP rank), Assistant Commandant (DySP rank), Armed Police Inspector, Armed Police Sub-Inspector, Armed Police Assistant Sub-Inspector, Senior Civil Police Officer / Police Chief Constable / Police Constable.

The camp is divided into companies for administrative convenience. The companies are headed by Armed Police Inspectors. In addition, each company is divided into 3 platoons, each of which is controlled by the Armed Police Sub-Inspectors. Each platoon is divided into sessions. Sections are overseen by senior civil police officers.

Currently SAP has A to G and then a headquarters company.

Last updated on Thursday 14th of July 2022 PM